List of Holidays in 2024 By Central Government

Pune Pulse

List of Holidays in 2024 By Central Government

Share This News

In 2024, India will commemorate a diverse array of public holidays, officially designated as Government Holidays, encompassing cultural, nationalistic, and religious observances at both union and state levels. The Central Government has recently unveiled the comprehensive list of holidays for the upcoming year. This compilation includes a harmonious mix of national celebrations, religious festivals, historical events, and regional observances.

In adherence to the Office Memorandum issued on July 3, 2023, all Central Government Administrative Offices situated in Delhi/New Delhi are scheduled to observe approximately 17 gazetted holidays throughout 2024. Additionally, there will be a handful of restricted holidays. This carefully curated list provides individuals with the opportunity to plan their calendars, ensuring they can effectively organize their schedules, including weekends and other festivities.

Gazetted Holidays of 2024

A holiday that has been formally declared by the government and published in the official gazette is known as a gazetted holiday. This indicates that the government and other public institutions across the nation recognise and honour it as a national holiday.

Jan 26Republic DayFriday
March 25HoliMonday
March 29Good FridayFriday
April 9 or 10Eid-ul-FitrTuesday or Wednesday
April 17Ram NavamiWednesday
April 21Mahavir JayantiSunday
May 23Buddha PurnimaThursday
June 16 or 17Eid-ul-AdhaSunday or Monday
July 17MuharramWednesday
August 15Independence DayThursday
August 26JanmashtamiMonday
September 15 or 16Id-E-MiladSunday or Monday
October 02Gandhi JayantiWednesday
October 12DussehraSaturday
October 31DiwaliThursday
November 11Guru Nanak JayantiFriday
December 25ChristmasWednesday

List of Optional Holidays in 2024

Restricted holidays, which are sometimes called Optional Holidays, are extra days that employers give their staff members in addition to mandatory vacations like company, regional, and national holidays.

January 15Makar SankrantiMonday
Jan 15 to Jan 18PongalMonday to Thursday
Feb 14Sri Panchami/Vasant PanchamiWednesday
March 8 Maha ShivaratriFriday
March 20NowruzWednesday
March 25HoliMonday
April 9Ugadi/ Chaitra Sukladi/ Cheti Chand/ Gudi PadwaTuesday
April 13Vaishakhi/VaisakhadiSaturday
April 14Vishu/Bohag Bihu/ MesadiSunday
April 17Ram NavamiWednesday
July 8Rath YatraMonday
August 26JanmashtamiMonday
September 9Ganesh Chaturthi/Vinayaka ChaturthiSaturday
Sep 5 to Sep 17OnamThursday to Tuesday
October 3 to October 12Shardiya NavratriThursday to Saturday
October 12DussehraSaturday
October 20 or October 21Karwa ChauthSunday or Monday
Nov 7 to Nov 11Chhath Puja Thursday to Sunday

List of All Gazetted & Restricted Holidays in 2024

New Year’s DayJan 1Monday
Makar SankrantiJan 15Monday
Bihu MaghJan 13 & Jan 14Saturday & Sunday
PongalJan 15 to Jan 18Monday to Thursday
Basant PanchamiFeb 14Wednesday
Sri PanchamiFeb 14Wednesday
Hazarat Ali’s BirthdayJan 23 or Jan 24Tuesday & Wednesday
Guru Ravi Das’s BirthdayFeb 24Saturday
Birthday of Swami Dayananda SaraswatiMar 5Tuesday
Maha ShivratriMar 8Friday
Shivaji JayantiFeb 19Monday
Holika dahanMar 25Monday
DolyatraMar 25Monday
Chaitra SukladiApril 9Tuesday
Cheti ChandApril 9Tuesday
UgadiApril 9Tuesday
PadwaApril 9Tuesday
GudiApril 9Tuesday
Easter SundayMar 31Sunday
VaisakhiApril 13Saturday
VishuApril 13Saturday
MesadiApril 13Saturday
Vaisakhadi (Bengal)April 13Saturday
Bahag Bihu (Assam)April 14Sunday
Jamat-Ul-VidaApril 4 & April 5Thursday & Friday
Birthday of Guru Rabindranath TagoreMay 8Wednesday
Rath YatraJuly 8Monday
Parsi New Year’s dayAug 15Thursday
NaurajAug 15Thursday
Vinayaka ChaturthiSep 7Saturday
Onam or Thiru Onam DaySep 5 to Sep 17Thursday & Tuesday
Raksha BandhanAug 19Monday
Janmashtami (Smarta)Aug 26Monday
Ganesh ChaturthiSep 7Saturday
Dussehra (Saptami)October 10Saturday
Dussehra (Maha Ashtami)October 11Friday
Dussehra (Mahanavami)October 12Saturday
Maharishi Valmiki’s BirthdayOct 17Thursday
Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chauth)Oct 20Sunday
Naraka ChaturdashiOct 31Thursday
Govardhan PujaNov 2Saturday
Bhai DoojNov 3Sunday
Pratihar Shashthi (Chhat Puja)Nov 7Thursday
Guru Tegh Bahadur’s Martyrdom DayNov 24Sunday
Christmas EveDec 24Tuesday
ChristmasDec 25Wednesday

(Note: Dates may be subject to change; details mentioned here are as per the information available.)

There are just three national holidays in India Republic Day (January 26), Independence Day (15 August), and Gandhi Jayanti (2 October) despite the country’s vast cultural heritage. In major regions of India, along with other state holidays, over thirty great festivals are observed. States have regional celebrations based on the language and religious populations that predominate there.

Angel home decor