12 Proofs Of Identity Accepted For Voting Ahead of Lok Sabha Elections 2024  

Prohibitory orders in place in Pimpri Chinchwad for Lok Sabha elections in Shirur and Maval Constituencies

Prohibitory orders in place in Pimpri Chinchwad for Lok Sabha elections in Shirur and Maval Constituencies

Share This News

In the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, the Election Commission of India has made it easier for citizens to exercise their right to vote. Collector and District Election Officer Dr. Suhas Diwase announced that apart from the voter photo ID card, 12 other proofs of identity will be accepted for voting. Passport, Driving License, Photo Identity Card issued by Central or State Government, Public Sector Undertakings, Public Limited Companies to their employees, Passbook issued by Bank or Postal Department with photograph, PAN Card, National Population Register Smart Card issued by Registrar General and Census Commissioner of India, Employment Identity Card issued under MNREGA, Pension Document, Official Identity Card issued to Members of Parliament, Legislative Assembly, Legislative Council, Aadhaar Card, Special Identity Card issued by Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of India to Persons with Disabilities, Workers Arogya Bima Smart Card issued by the Ministry is 12 proofs to be considered for voting.

Pune district will witness voting in three constituencies: Maval, Pune, and Shirur and Baramati on May 13 and May 7. Voters with a photographic voter ID will simply present it at the polling station for verification. For those without a voter ID, any of the 12 specified proofs will suffice.

The Election Office is diligently distributing information slips to all registered voters, containing details like the polling station, list part number, and the designated date and time. It’s advised that voters carry this slip along with their photo identity card while heading to the polling station.

Understanding your polling station is crucial. For instance, Pune Lok Sabha Constituency includes areas like Kothrud, Shivaji Nagar, Vadgaon Sheri, Kasba, Parvati, and Pune Cantonment.
To assist voters, the district administration has established Voter Assistance Centers. These centers provide information on polling stations and can be accessed through the Election Commission’s website or app. Additionally, voters will receive a Voter Information Sheet with details on where to vote.