DigiYatra facility to be extended to international passengers soon 

DigiYatra facility to be extended to international passengers soon

DigiYatra facility to be extended to international passengers soon

Share This News

On Thursday 8th February, 2024, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Union Civil Aviation Minister announced that the Government is aiming to extend the Digi Uatra facility for international Passangers as well.

What is Digi Yatra?

Digi yatra, which has over 3.5 million users is used to make travel hassle-free and contactless by scanning your physical or Mobile boarding pass and looking into the Facial Recognition System (FRS) Camera installed on E-Gate. The system will validate your ID and travel document after which the E-Gate will allow you inside the airport.

Earlier, it was only eligible for Indian passengers, but soon it will be eligible for International passengers as well.

Currently, the Digi Yatra facility is available in 13 major Airports in India including Delhi, Varanasi, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Pune, Kolkata, Vijayawada, Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Cochin, Guwahati, Jaipur and Lucknow which handle about 85%.

“It is a long process as the Administration will have to coordinate with the Ministry of External Affairs, The Home Affairs, the concepts of E-Passports and E-Visas,” stated Scindia.

The aim is to cover 11 airports in the first half and 13 airports in the second half of 2025. Therefore, in total 38 airports will have the facility of Digi Yatra for passengers.

Regarding data privacy concerns, VK Singh, Minister of State Civil Aviation (Retd), affirmed that the Digi Yatra Central Ecosystem (DYCE) prioritises privacy through design and default, with no centralized storage of passengers.

With the extension of Digi Yatra both domestically and Worldwide, airport travel will become easy and less time-consuming.

Angel home decor