Bank holiday today? Are all banks closed on April 1?

Share This News

Today, on April 1, 2024, banks across most states in India will remain closed due to annual closing procedures. However, there are exceptions in certain states like Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Sikkim, and West Bengal, where banks will operate as usual.

Commencement of New Financial Year:

April 1 marks the beginning of the new financial year, 2024-25. During this time, banks are busy completing their fiscal year-end formalities, leading to interruptions in normal banking services. Bank staff often work overtime to ensure all required procedures are completed.

Duration of Bank Holidays in April 2024:

In April 2024, banks in India will remain closed for a total of 12 days. However, the number of holidays may vary by state due to factors such as public holidays, regional holidays, Saturdays, and Sundays. The holiday calendar is determined by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) in coordination with state governments.

Utilizing Online Banking Facilities and ATMs:

Despite bank closures, online banking services will continue as usual. Customers can access their bank’s websites, mobile apps, or ATMs for urgent transactions. However, for tasks requiring bank staff assistance, customers should plan visits accordingly based on the holiday schedule.

Checking Bank Holiday List for 2024:

The RBI releases a comprehensive list of bank holidays for the year, considering national/state holidays, cultural or religious observances, operational requirements, and government announcements. It’s essential for individuals to stay informed about bank holidays by checking official sources like the RBI website or their bank’s official communication channels.

Below is the full list of other bank holidays in April 2024

April 5 bank holiday: On account of Babu Jagjivan Ram’s Birthday/Jumat-ul-Vida, banks will remain shut in Telangana and Jammu

April 9 bank holiday: Banks in Maharashtra, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Manipur, Goa, Jammu and Srinagar will be closed for Gudi Padwa/Ugadi Festival/Telugu New Year’s Day/Sajibu Nongmapanba (Cheiraoba)/1st Navratra.

April 10 bank holiday: Banks will be closed in Tripura, Assam, Manipur, Jammu, and Srinagar because of the Bohag Bihu/Cheiraoba/Baisakhi/Biju festivals.

April 15 bank holiday: On this day, banks will suspend offline operations for customers in Assam and Himachal Pradesh due to Bohag Bihu and Himachal Day.

April 16 bank holiday: On the occasion of Ram Navami, banks will be closed in Gujarat, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Orissa, Chandigarh, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh.

April 20 bank holiday: Banks’ branches in Tripura will be shut for Garia Puja festival.

Regular Bank Closures

Banks will be closed on the second Saturday: April 13

Banks will be closed on the fourth Saturday: April 27

Bank holiday on Sundays: April 7, 14, 21 and 28 

While online banking services remain accessible during bank closures, individuals should be mindful of specific holiday dates to plan their banking activities effectively. Checking with their bank branch or official website ensures they stay updated on any regional variations in the holiday schedule.

Podar Prep
Podar Prep