Number of Voting Stations to Increase in Pune

Pune Pulse

Image for representational purpose only

Share This News

Due to the increase in the number of voters in the last ten months, the number of polling stations will have to be increased for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. 36 new centers will be added to the existing centers. Therefore, the total number of polling stations will go up to 8 thousand 213.

Lok Sabha elections are being held next year. Against this backdrop, the process of finalizing the voter list is underway by the Election Commission. As a part of it, the draft voter list has been published. 

Accordingly, the number of voters in 21 assembly constituencies of the district including Pune city has increased to 80 lakh 73 thousand 182. Compared to last year, the number of voters has increased by one lakh 21 thousand 763. Due to this, the number of polling stations has also increased.

There were eight thousand 175 centers during the last Lok Sabha elections. It has increased by 36 to 8 thousand 213. While fixing the center care has been taken to ensure that they are on the ground floor. Polling stations in 625 buildings have been changed due to various reasons like old buildings, insufficient space, narrow roads to reach the polling stations.

One and a half thousand voters will be able to vote in one room at the center. After that voters can vote in another room at the same center. Therefore, care has been taken to ensure that there are no crowds and queues of voters at a single polling room.

Following is the constituency wise polling station count:

Junnar 356, Ambegaon 338, Khed 385, Shirur 405, Daund 309, Indapur 329, Baramati 376, Purandar 410, Bhor 561, Maval 381, Chinchwad 528, Pimpri 399, Bhosari 464, Vadgaon Sheri 452, Khadakwasla 465, Shivajinagar 280, Kothrud 398, Parvati 344, Kasba 270, Hadapsar 494 and Pune Cantonment 274.

Shreyas Vange

(Source – Sakal)