Pune Employees in Baramati Granted Leave For Voting On May 7

Pune Employees in Baramati Granted Leave For Voting On May 7

Pune Employees in Baramati Granted Leave For Voting On May 7 ( Representational image )

Share This News

May 6, 2024

By Khushi Maheshwari 

While Baramati constituency residents have a public holiday on the day of voting, those who work in Pune but are voting in Baramati will have a holiday on 7th May, provided they show their voter list proof. Shirur and Pune Constituencies have polling on 7th may. 

The district administration has made it clear that on 7th May, the day of the Lok Sabha seat election, everyone residing in different parts of the city that are part of the Baramati parliamentary constituency will have a holiday.

According to Kavita Dwivedi, election officer in charge of the Baramati constituency, all those who are putting up in Baramati have a public holiday, but those who stay in Baramati but work in Pune ought to provide voter list proof to obtain a paid holiday. 

Baramati is composed of 6 assembly segments namely Bhor, Khadakwasla, Daund, Baramati, Indapur and Purandar. The majority of Khadakwasla is located in Pune’s southern and western regions, including Katraj, Sinhgad Road, Kothrud, Warje, Bavdhan and Hinjewadi.

Many of the locals who live in these neighbourhoods are employed in Kharadi and Hadapsar, in the eastern portion of Pune, or in other central Pune locations. The eastern portions belong to the Shirur Lok Sabha constituency, which will hold elections on 13 May, while the centre portions are under the Pune Lok Sabha seat.

An IT professional from Baramati, Ameya Bhosale, stated that they possess a voter ID proof which they will show to their boss and then proceed as per their instructions. Another IT professional from Katraj who works in Magarpatta City and is yet to receive a notice from her company regarding the holiday informed that she will be travelling to Magarpatta on 13th May, which is the day of voting in Magarpatta City, whereas in Katraj voting will take place on 7 May. 

All state voting days will be observed as public holidays, as announced by the state administration. Voters who must leave their constituencies for work will also be eligible to take advantage of this holiday. Additionally, on the aforementioned dates, public companies, state and central government offices, semi-government offices and other institutions will be closed.

All establishments, factory and shop owners, managements, working officers and employees under the department of industries, energy and labour are to be granted ample leave on 7th and 13th May so that they can exercise their right to vote in the elections, according to an order issued by Pune district collector Suhas Diwase.